Spontaneity Changed The Course of My Life

#bespontaneous
My spontaneity changed the course of my life. I went on to secure my first professional contract in Croatia making friendships and memories that will last a lifetime. I have since played several seasons abroad with many more friendships and memories. I learned to trust my instincts. If I had not been spontaneous none of that would’ve been possible.

I entered a contest called Spontaneity Champion. You were required to create a video to describe you, your life, and describe why your spontaneous nature makes you the Spontaneity Champion. The only finalists chosen were from London where LastMinute.com’s headquarters are, the company who ran the competition. I did receive an encouraging email from them with a 50 pound credit towards a spontaneous trip.

I did however, through the process of submitting, have fun reflecting on my journeys and all the spontaneous adventures that led to me being who I am now. Spontaneity has forced me to live out of my comfort zone and challenged me as an athlete, partner, writer, friend, and human. I have never been one for conventional living and have cherished the learning, growing, and strength these experiences have taught me. I am grateful for every single experience.

Check out my submission video! 

Video Text:

  • Hi I’m Crystal
  • California grown
  • I live last minute
  • I worked & played in Alaska
  • I learned a lot about myself
  • & I fell in love with travel
  • I graduated college
  • playing & studying
  • & volleyball took me all over the world
  • Denmark
  • Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai
  • Norway
  • Ireland
  • Vietnam
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Sweden
  • Germany
  • Finland
  • I’ll play volleyball anywhere
  • With anyone
  • Even santa
  • I am silly
  • I am fit
  • I am outdoorsy
  • Life lately Peru
  • I love my team
  • I love my dog Pula
  • (she’s silly too)
  • I love street art
  • I love California
  • I love travel scraps
  • I love doors
  • I love markets
  • I love my friends.
  • Trains & planes
  • I love Beaches
  • I love Food
  • I love Reflections
  • & Sunsets
  • Spontaneity
  • Starts with a C
  • Let’s Go!
Leave a Reply

