The Help

“Every morning, until you dead in the ground, you gone have to make this decision. You gone have to ask yourself, “Am I gone believe what them fools say about me today?”

This book was a pure pleasure to read. I promised myself last January that I would accept a reading challenge : 12 books in 2011. I feel like although I have been reading a lot but not finishing a lot of books. If all the books I chose were as easy, gripping, and pleasurable to read as this one I would have read 200 books in 2011! It kept my full attention.

The intricate characters, the dialogue,  especially the dynamic between races, classes and society in general during this time period kept me reading deep into the night. After visiting the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati last summer and time spent living in southern USA I had beautifully vivid imagery while reading these descriptions of people, land, etc and accent filled dialougues. It is a great read, one of my favorites.

I enjoyed the movie as well after I finished the book but I enjoy imagining all of these people in my mind before a movie paints the picture for me. A change from the book which I actually enjoyed was the scene towards the end with Skeeter’s mother and Elisabeth with Skeeter on her front porch (usually when I reads the book I am irked by an altered storyline in the movie).

Read it. Watch it. Love it. The Help.

More of my favorite quotes:

“That’s what I love about Aibileen, she can take the most complicated things in life and wrap them up so small and simple, they’ll fit right in your pocket.”

“I listened wide-eyed, stupid. Glowing by her voice in the dim light. If chocolate was a sound, it would’ve been Constantine’s voice singing. If singing was a color, it would’ve been the color of that chocolate.”
“….I realized I actually had a choice in what I could believe.”

“I don’t know what to say to her. All I know is, I ain’t saying it. And I know she ain’t saying what she want a say either and it’s a strange thing happening here cause nobody saying nothing and we still managing to have us a conversation”

“I used to believe in em (lines). I don’t anymore. They in our heads. Lines between black and white ain’t there neither. Some folks just made those up, long time ago. And that go for the white trash and the so-ciety ladies too.”

“Got to be the worst place in the world, inside a oven. You in here, you either cleaning or you getting cooked.”

“It weren’t too loo long before I seen something in me, had changed. A bitter seed was planted inside of me. And I just didn’t feel so, accepting, anymore.”

“Wasn’t that the point of the book? For women to realize, We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I’d thought.”

2 comments

  1. Hi Crystal, I saw your post some time ago and, together with other friends’ favoring comments, I got curious and bought the book. I really couldn’t put it down since then, reading every second I could find free! What an amazing book! I rarely was able to read 460-page book so fast, so without getting bored or scared of its thickness. Such a powerful story! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for contributing in me finding this book! Happy new year & many more inspirational books around! 🙂

    • I haven’t read a book so fast and enjoyed so much since the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson! I was staying up hours into the night to finish parts. Loved the book and movie which is rare, usually the movie disappoints me. It didn’t feel like I read 460 pages! Glad you enjoyed my thought and the book! You and I have an addiction to books! I am trying to actually finish the ones I am starting lately, no matter how boring they are once I start! I loved your post about your purse full of books. I always do that. I am currently reading like 3 books at one time and bring them with me even if I don’t have time…I might so I can’t leave them behind! Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

