Thankful. Tacksam. Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving

For each new morning with its light,
For rest and shelter of the night,
For health and food,
For love and friends,
For everything Thy goodness sends.

– Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

Today is a day to be thankful. It is one of those thing that is hard to remember to do. Today back home is a day usually set aside to spend with loved ones to gather and annoy eachother and eat until you can’t move, full on food coma. Today is about bringing people together. Being thankful is hard enough to remember to do but working all day and practice after filled my mind and I looked forward to ending my day with good food, good friends, and thanksgiving.

I have many things to be thankful for and I tend to worry and overthink so much that setting aside an offical day to relax and give thanks is exactly what someone like me needs.

I am thankful for the opportunities I have been blessed with although I am often overwhelmed and too busy to sleep I am thankful for the opportunity and  the obstacles as well. These moments and the lessons learned which make me stronger and wiser.

I am thankful for my family spread out and too busy for eachother most of the time I love you just the same. I am thankful for you all. I think of you often and miss you. From cousins, aunts, uncles, adopted family, to my mom and sis.

I am thankful for my love. Near or far I am lucky to have you in my life and wish you were here cutting the bird with us today. I am thankful for you just the same.

I am thankful for all my friends. Near and far I am thankful for all the love and support they provide me unwaveringly. I am thankful to have thier stories be a part of my own. I cherish you all from Abu Dhabi, Africa, America, all over the world.

I am thankful for life and health. Waking up and breathing each day, able to walk, run, smile, and see. Sometimes we take these simple things for grantite, others are not so lucky.

I am thankful for those in my life who I have lost. It is for you whom I should continue to cherish the small things.

I am thankful for the new people who enter my life each year whether you are teammates, swedish class friends, coaches, strangers, or new born babies. The variety and uniqueness of each individual continues to amaze me.

I am thankful for the present, past, and future. I have learned from the past, try to live in the present, and await what the future holds. I am thankful for all the experiences.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

