Buddy the… Ukrainian Elf??

I love my Ukrainian room-mate and team-mate. Nadya. I also love the movie Elf. Buddy the Elf and Nadya have a lot in common. I don’t know if u remember the lovely scene where Buddy the Elf has dinner with his father and they eat spaghetti and Buddy pulls a bottle of maple syrup out of his sleeve to put on the spaghetti. They ask him if he likes sugar, he says “Is there sugar in syrup?, yes there is, “Then yes, I like sugar. We elves try to stick to the four main food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup.” Then he  chugs a bottle of Coke and burps for about a minute. Then the next morning he makes spaghetti for breakfast with candy on top. That is Nadya. She has finished jars and jars of knock off Nutella, has half a cup sugar in one cup coffee, eats jam out of the jar by the spoonful, popsicle after popsicle, a bag of chips and a bottle of soda, jam on top of her corn flakes, bags of goodies from the store, chocolate spread on her toast … I think she might even brush her teeth with sugar-paste. She is Buddy the Elf! At the same time though she loves her potatoes and carrots. She eats carrots like Roger Rabbit and has potatoes in every meal in some manner.

IMG_8126
Nadya chompin' on a Carrot

No Ukrainians were hurt or injured while capturing these photos.

Just don’t try to touch her Jam jar and everyone will walk away safely.

IMG_8129
Nadya & her bucket of Jam

I know everyone as a kid might’ve known someone who wasn’t allowed sweets at their house so when they came to your house they ate as much as they could get their hands on. Whether it was sugary cereal , ice cream, a Kudo’s bar, String Thing, Gushers, etc they gorged themselves knowing they might not be getting any of that when they got home. I believe when that kid grows up they will inevitably have a sugary fetish and need for sweets due to its extreme appeal combined with the absence of it in their childhood. Example A: my lovely Bottlecap loving, Sweetheart popping, Swedish Fish eating friend Teal. Her only luck is that she doesn’t like chocolate, so at least she is safe from what is my weakest sweet choice :). While that theory works for Teal I’m not sure the same applies to Nadya. I ask her why??????? We are still working on an answer that I can understand.

My theory:

If it grows underground she eats it; beets, carrots, radish, potato, etc.

It its sugary she eats it.

So far if I had to pick Nadya’s four main food groups I’d pick: potatoes, carrots, jam, and goodies.

2 comments

    • I am glad too. You will officially be brought in to it in A week. We had goodies and coke A cola and cake tonight you would’ve loved it 🙂 get here!!

Leave a Reply

