Remember Reading?

I was recounting my reading memories with Marcie on our walk home the other day and we had a lot in common. We have been struggling with a lack of entertainment, what about books? I was a pretty lucky kid to actually like reading. To receive books as presents, and to like it. To hide under my covers with a flashlight hoping I wouldn’t get caught so I could finish a few more chapters. It makes me sad that I am not as obsessive of a reader as I used to be. I loved all the required reads in High School and Honors English in college and looked forward to intellectual conversations and discussions dissecting the content. I loved to  sleepover at Corey’s house on her bunk bed falling asleep each of us reading our Mary Higgins Clark novel. I loved reading all Roald Dahl and E.B. White books. I loved books.

Now as I feel I am forcing myself to finish just a single book. I wonder when I changed. Did dry college text suck all the fun out of reading for me? Am I too consumed with online nonsense and the blackhole of endless distractions it provides. Have I become so lazy that I would rather turn my brain off for G’s to Gents or Top Model that attempt to read again? All of these could be a culprit. Why have I read so few books since then when I’ve had so much time to enjoy reading. I have had a few hot reads that I couldn’t put down in the past few years, The Shadow of the Wind, Angels & Demons, The Hoax, The DaVinci Code, and The Memory Keeper’s Daughter to name a few but that is so few. I have a long list of books I’d love to read or have even bought to start reading but haven’t gotten to. I love bookstores. I could browse Barnes and Noble or The Used Bookstore on Main in Chico for hours and hours interested and reading samples of many books, eventually choosing a few that sit on my shelf neglected.

I am oficially making an effort. At least a book a month. I can do it, I know I can and I bet I will even enjoy it. I remember reading, I want to remember again…

Leave a Reply

