Perfect Chico Saturday

Horseshoe Lake
Horseshoe Lake
Horseshoe Lake, before sunrise
Horseshoe Lake, before sunrise

My perfect Saturday started with  moment number one. Wake up to puppy kisses. Get my spandex on, I know how much everybody loves that I’m constantly rockin’ my favorite spandex. Today it’s blue shorts and blue jacket, I’m like a neon blueberry basically.  Meet Teal by the park, it’s still pitch dark. Ride bikes to Upper Park, through 5 mile and the golf course up the rim to hopefully see the sunrise. See 3 deer cruising around. Keep riding. Park. Wait. While waiting I miss a perfect Planet Earth moment with my camera as little Bambi bounds straight for us not seeing us til the last minute then faced off before changing route. Wait on a rock. Slowly see the beginning glow of the sunrise. See the light change the entire view of Chico and the park becomes illuminated with vibrancy. See the first outline of the sun. Watch slowly as the whole sun emerges from behind the ridge. Get blinded when it does. Apparently that first sun is really bright. Now we have shadows or ourselves and so do the beautiful valley oak trees above Monkey Rock. It reminds me of Peter Pan and his shadow, and I feel completely awake as the light shines brilliantly over me.

IMG_7694
Sunrise on the Rim
IMG_7697
Sunrise on the Rim
Bikes
Bikes for our Journey
A Friend with Great Ideas
A Friend with Great Ideas
Oak Tree
Oak Tree
Oak Tree
Oak Tree

As we ride down, I appreciate decline for I am hitting a wall of hunger and exhaustion. The energy that carries me back to the house is the thought of breakfast and coffee downtown and the buzz of Saturday Market. We quickly descend and find more and more bikers, we were not the only ones with a good idea for a saturday morning. They however took it to a new level, a bike race through the park. We reached Lower Park and the canopy of the trees shades us. There is another park event, a heart walk. Busy Saturday in the park! We are cheerily greeted by every morning biker, dog walker, runner, squirrel, and a few falling acorns as well.  The rare shy person Teal took as a challenge to get them to say hi back to us … they did of course but some extra effort was required.IMG_7715

Sneaky Self-Port

Home means food! We rally troops and head to Brooklyn Bridge for some fully loaded bagels and freshly squeezed O.J. I need a kick of java and Naked Lounge Vietnamese Coffee is AAAAmazingly delicious and exactly what I need.  Sitting sidewalk cafe style enjoying breakfast coffee and friends watching people zip by on foot, car, bike, stroller, etc I feel content. We wander through farmers market and pick up a few things. I see many familiar faces and talk to a few people. I love just going to feel the vibe of those people. Shopping. Bikes. Walking. Fresh. Healthy. Awake. Coffee. Productive. Nature. Fruit. Art. Friends.

IMG_7722 IMG_7727

IMG_7745

We then make a trip further down to the Palio event. We run into more friends and her adorable daughters. The youngest in a pink tu-tu reminds me of  how I loved to dress when I was little. Peti coats, tu-tu’s, hair clips, neon socks, galoshes, cowboy boots, headbands, pins, and whatever else wild and appropriate I could find to dress in colorfully. There were live dance performances, choir, and uniquely designed themed and decorated horses from different organizations. Very artistic diverse event. It’s heating up and I’m getting tired. Time for some r&r poolside. I could not have asked for a better last Saturday in Chico-Teal, great idea, perfectly executed-that’s what friends are for and I will miss you a lot in Sweden!!!

IMG_7748IMG_7749

Sparkle Tu-Tu+Sparkle Unicorn=what dreams are made of
Sparkle Tu-Tu+Sparkle Unicorn=what dreams are made of

IMG_7751IMG_7749

Leave a Reply

